Three AHRC Collaborative Doctoral Award Opportunities on Art/Science Collaborations

This PhD studentship advertisement just landed in my inbox. Please note that the deadline is 22 October 2012 for a start in January 2013.

We invite applications for three AHRC funded collaborative doctoral awards on the theme of Engaging in Art/Science Collaboration: Communities, Visual Economies and the Spaces of Communication.

Working with an academic supervisory team of Professor Michael Woods (Aberystwyth University), Professor Deborah Dixon (University of Glasgow) and Dr Harriet Hawkins (Royal Holloway, University of London), these three awards are as follows:

1)   “New Communities: The Present and Future Role of Art/Science Programming”
Partner: Dyfi Biosphere, Wales.

Studentship to be based in the Institute of Geography and Earth Sciences, Aberystwyth University. Lead academic supervisor Prof. Michael Woods, lead non-academic supervisor Andy Rowlands.

2) “New Visual Economies: Art, GIS and the Geographic Imagination”
Partner: Environmental Systems, Glasgow

Studentship to be based in the School of Geography and Earth Sciences, University of Glasgow. Lead academic supervisor Prof. Deborah Dixon and lead non-academic supervisor Steve Keyworth.

3)   “Curating Art-Science, New Methods and Sites of Production and Display
Partner: Arts Catalyst, London.

Studentship to be based in the Department of Geography, Royal Holloway, University of London. Lead academic supervisor Dr Harriet Hawkins and lead non-academic supervisors Nicola Triscott and Rob Le Frenais.

The deadline for applications is 22nd October 2012. Interviews will likely be held 8th/ 9th November. The successful applicants will start in January 2013.

Project Summary:
These three PhD studentships explore the production and audience engagement, of the art/science projects produced by three organisations, who develop this work from within very different sectors; a large scale scientific project (UNESCO site Dyfi Biosphere, Wales), a geovisualisation organisation (Environment Systems, Wales and Scotland), and a leading cultural producer (The Arts Catalyst, London). These studentships will conduct ethnographic and practice-based research at these organisations and, drawing on the knowledge and expertise of partners, combine an exploration of the processes of art/science collaboration with a study of the diverse ways these art/science projects engage with multiple audiences, whether these be rural communities, scientists and science communication professionals, artists and gallery-goers, or the ‘general’ public. Collectively, these studentships animate and extend existing debates around art/science projects, and explore of these projects in relation to science communication and contemporary curatorial practices, pointing towards ‘lessons learnt’ and future trajectories.

The studentships will:

1.      Explore the imaginaries, practices and spatialities that animate art/science projects.

2.      Ask how the organisations that produce these projects meet the challenges they pose.

3.      Assess how art/science projects engage diverse audiences.

4.      Realize new methodologies for the study of art/science projects and their audience engagement

Applications for each of the three studentship awards should be made separately following the application procedures of the relevant university, which are detailed on the links:

Aberystwyth University (with the Dyfi Biosphere):

University of Glasgow (with Environment Systems):

Royal Holloway University London (with The Arts Catalyst):

Candidates may apply for more than one of the studentships, but may only hold one of the awards.

The awards are funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, and the studentship pays post-graduate fees and an annual maintenance grant.

Please note that the usual AHRC eligibility rules apply to these studentships. UK residency is normally required. EU citizens may also be eligible for fees-only awards. Further details on basic eligibility requirements are available from the AHRC web-site see:<>

Further enquiries should be made to the lead supervisors of the individual studentships:

Michael Woods:

Deborah Dixon:

Harriet Hawkins:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s